WTC Final: Five things we learnt as Cameron Green’s wonder catch divides opinion – صحيفة الصوت

The World Test Championship final is reaching it’s final act, with Australia still in a strong position to claim the title for the first time.

Australia and India have played each other a lot recently — this is the fifth Test they’ve shared this year — so there was doubtless going to be some heat in this match given how well the players know each other.

We run our rule over the controversy and the other things you missed from The Oval overnight.

Green’s brilliant catch

Right, let’s get straight into it, the big controversy of the night.

Cameron Green took a second blinding catch in the match.()

Cameron Green has already taken one super catch in this match to shift the momentum back in Australia’s favour, that of Ajunkya Rahane, to end his impressive innings of 89 and stand of 109 with Shardul Thakur.

India lost its next three wickets for 35 runs and were all out for 296. 

That one, diving high to his right, was probably the best of his impressive career in the gully.

Then he caught Shubman Gill on the stroke of tea.

India were cruising at 0-41 at a run rate of 5.72. Gill was 18 at a run-a-ball.

So Green did what Green does and completed another stunning grab, diving full stretch low to his left this time, somehow getting his fingers under the ball.

At least, that’s what third umpire Richard Kettleborough decided.

The cacophony of booing that greeted the decision on the big screen, and the debate that ensued between Chris Gaffaney, Richard Illingworth and Rohit Sharma, suggests other decisions were prevalent in the stands. 

Footage appeared to show the ball fly downwards off Green’s hand towards the ground, where it may have brushed the grass before the West Australian came up clutching it and Gill was sent on his way.

“There’ll be a lot of opinion of Cameron Green’s catch online,” ex-Australia batter Justin Langer warned on ABC Sport.

“He’ll have to shut that out, it’s part of the journey of being in the jungle.”

BBC Test Match Special commentator and ex-England bowler Jonathan Agnew said on ABC Sport that it was a “sensational catch”.

“I think he has gone down holding the ball out and has swivelled the wrist to get the fingers underneath it,” Agnew said.

Another former England bowler Steven Finn agreed.

“The key moment is that Green’s palm is facing the ground when he goes down but it’s the question of the weight of when he tumbles,” he said.

“I think the correct decision has been made.”

But Indian commentator Harsha Bhogle said on twitter that there was enough doubt.

“It was a great effort from Cameron Green but it is the moment immediately after the catch is taken, when the hand turns, that must cause Shubman Gill to be very disappointed,” he wrote.

India comes out with nothing to lose

Rohit Sharma timed the ball exquisitely. ()

The tragedy for India was likely that they came out swinging and were scoring at a hugely impressive rate.

At tea, India were going at a run rate of 5.72.

Gill was hitting at just under a run a ball, Rohit Sharma too was firing on all cylinders on 22, hitting boundaries galore.


اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *